The 2018 La Vendéenne [la vahn day en] Awards

For Excellence in Encaustic Painting 

International Encaustic Artists (IEA) is hosting the fifth La Vendéenne [la vahn day en] Awards program for artists working with encaustic (pigmented wax). The awards are named in honor of a fourth century female encaustic artist, Laia, whose buried remains were found, along with the tools of her encaustic art, in the La Vendée region of France. The La Vendéenne Awards were established in 2011 to recognize artists or groups who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement and practice of encaustic art.

For 2018, nominees for the La Vendéenne Outstanding Contribution Award can be an individual or a group of artists, an organization, or a company who has excelled at one (or more) of the following:

    • Achieved distinction in their artistic career
    • Been innovative in their use of encaustic
    • Made outstanding contributions in education and/or raised the level of excellence in encaustic fine art through teaching
    • Published digital or print material significant to the advancement of encaustic art
    • Developed technical innovation(s) that has helped advance encaustic art

Nominations for the 2018 La Vendéenne Award may be made by anyone in the art community. Up to three runners up and one awardee will be selected by a qualified, impartial jury. All finalists will receive free entrance into the IEA retreat in Santa Fe, September 2018. The winner of the La Vendéenne Outstanding Contribution Award will receive a $1000 cash award and runners up will each receive a $500 cash award.

Past nominees and finalists are eligible. Board of Director Members are ineligible to receive La Vendéenne awards during their tenure on the Board of IEA.  Winners of previous La Vendéenne Awards are ineligible to receive an award for three years following their win.

Nominations close July 18, 2018

For details, and to complete nominations, click here.

Past recipients


  • Artistry: Barbara Cone
  • Innovation: Michael Billie
  • Education: Gale Steinberg
  • Media: Douglas Mehrens
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Miles Conrad


  • Artistry: Fransico Benitez
  • Innovation: Enkaustikos
  • Education: Cynthia Winika
  • Media: Kathryn Bevier
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Dorothy Masom


  • Artistry: Eileen P. Goldenberg
  • Innovation: Paula Roland
  • Education: Ellen Koment
  • Volunteerism: Michelle Belto
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: R & F Paints


  • Artistry: Martin Kline
  • Innovation: Ann Huffman
  • Education: Douglas Mehrens
  • Media: Linda Robertson
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Jasper Johns


Home  |  About  |  Artists  |  Exhibitions  |  Membership  |  Awards & Grants  |  Workshops  |  Education  |  Contact  |  FAQ

Copyright 2018 International Encaustic Artists
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software